Anthony Joseph wins TS Eliot prize for ‘luminous’ poetry collection - The Guardian

Trending 2 weeks ago

Anthony Joseph has won the TS Eliot prize for his postulation Sonnets for Albert, described arsenic “luminous” by the judges.

Joseph takes the £25,000 poesy prize, which this twelvemonth saw a grounds 201 submissions.

Chair of judges Jean Sprackland, who was joined connected the sheet by 2021 Costa publication of the twelvemonth victor Hannah Lowe and 2019 TS Eliot prize victor Roger Robinson, said each of the shortlisted books “spoke powerfully to america successful its ain distinctive voice”.

“From this beardown tract our prime is Sonnets for Albert, a luminous postulation which celebrates humanity successful each its contradictions and breathes caller beingness into this enduring form,” she added.

Sonnets for Albert, which was shortlisted for the Forward prize for champion collection past year, is an autobiographical postulation that weighs the interaction of increasing up with a mostly absent father.

Reviewing the publication successful the Guardian, David Wheatley said that “after overmuch soundlessness and lack successful life”, Joseph’s begetter was “painstakingly restored successful decease successful a book-length ‘calypso sonnet’ sequence”.

Joseph is simply a poet, novelist and musician, and a lecturer successful originative penning astatine King’s College London.

He is the writer of 5 poesy collections and 3 novels, including Kitch: A Fictional Biography of a Calypso Icon, which was shortlisted for the Republic of Consciousness prize and the Royal Society of Literature’s Encore grant and was longlisted for the 2019 OCM Bocas prize for Caribbean literature. He has besides released 8 critically acclaimed albums.

Joseph was chosen arsenic the victor from a shortlist of 10 collections. The others shortlisted included 5 debut poesy collections: Quiet by Victoria Adukwei Bulley, Slide by Mark Pajak, bandit state by James Conor Patterson, The Room Between Us by Denise Saul and Manorism by Yomi Sode.

Also shortlisted were erstwhile victor Philip Gross for The Thirteenth Angel, Fiona Benson for Ephemeron, Jemma Borg for Wilder and Zaffar Kunial for England’s Green.

The 2021 prize was awarded to Joelle Taylor for her postulation C+nto & Othered Poems.